Univ of Southern California
University of Southern California
black horizontal bar for print styles

Political Science

Von KleinSmid Center 327
(213) 740-6998
FAX: (213) 740-8893
Email: posc@college.usc.edu

Chair: Ann N. Crigler, Ph.D.*


Anna H. Bing Dean’s Chair in the USC Dornsife College of Letters, Arts and Sciences: Howard Gillman, Ph.D. (Political Science, History and Law)

USC Associates Chair in Social Science: Mark E. Kann, Ph.D.*

Provost’s Professor of Business, Law, and Political Economy: Mathew D. McCubbins, Ph.D.

Professors: Terry Cooper, Ph.D. (Policy, Planning, and Development); Ann Crigler, Ph.D.*; Richard H. Dekmejian, Ph.D.; Mary Dudziak, Ph.D. (Law and History); Susan Estrich, J.D. (Law); Philip Ethington, Ph.D. (History); James Ferris, Ph.D. (Policy, Planning, and Development); Elizabeth Garrett, J.D. (Law); Elizabeth Graddy, Ph.D. (Policy, Planning, and Development); Nora Hamilton, Ph.D.; Thomas Hollihan, Ph.D. (Communication); Jane Junn, Ph.D.; Sharon Lloyd, Ph.D. (Philosophy); Nancy Lutkehaus, Ph.D. (Anthropology); John Matsusaka, Ph.D. (Finance and Business Economics); Dan Mazmanian, Ph.D. (Policy, Planning, and Development); Edward McCaffery, J.D. (Law); Mathew D. McCubbins, Ph.D. (Business, Law and Policy, Planning, and Development); Glenn Melnick, Ph.D. (Policy, Planning, and Development); Michael B. Preston, Ph.D.*; Robert Rasmussen, J.D. (Law); Alison D. Renteln, Ph.D.*; Stanley Rosen, Ph.D.*; Eliz Sanasarian, Ph.D.*; Edwin Smith, J.D. (Law); Shui Yan Tang, Ph.D. (Policy, Planning, and Development); Ernest J. Wilson III, Ph.D. (Communication); Priscilla Wohlstetter, Ph.D. (Education)

Associate Professors: John E. Barnes, Ph.D.*; Ange-Marie Hancock, Ph.D.; Juliet Musso, Ph.D. (Policy, Planning, and Development); Leland Saito, Ph.D. (Sociology); Jefferey M. Sellers, Ph.D.; Janelle Wong, Ph.D.

Assistant Professors: Christian Grose, Ph.D.; Nicholas Weller, Ph.D.

Professors of the Practice: Mark Bernstein, Ph.D.; Bill Lockyer, J.D.; William Simon Jr., J.D.

Assistant Professors (Teaching): Arthur Auerbach, Ph.D.; Anthony Kammas, Ph.D.; Andrew Manning, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of the Practice: Daniel Schnur, B.A.

Adjunct Assistant Professors: William Fahey, J.D.; Kerman Maddox, M.P.A.; George Newhouse Jr., J.D.; Olu K. Orange, J.D.; Darry Sragow, J.D.

Emeritus Professors: Carl Q. Christol, Ph.D., L.L.B., L.L.D. (Hon.)*; John R. Schmidhauser, Ph.D.

Emeritus Associate Professor: Joseph L. Nyomarkay, Ph.D.*

*Recipient of university-wide or college teaching award.

The Department of Political Science divides political science into four broad fields: American politics, political thought, comparative politics, and law and public policy. The department offers regional specialization in six areas: Latin America, East Asia, Western Europe, Russia and Eastern Europe, the Middle East, and Africa. The Jesse M. Unruh Institute of Politics provides local internships for students as part of their course work or as independent study.

Degree Programs

The Department of Political Science offers: the B.A.; minors in political science; law and society; race, ethnicity and politics; human rights; and political organizing in the digital age. The department also offers M.A. and Ph.D. degrees under the jurisdiction of the Graduate School, as well as a dual Ph.D. in Political Science and International Relations/Juris Doctor with the USC Gould School of Law.